Welcome to this Training on CHOWs!

A CHOW can be an extensive process. For example:

  • The process includes several operational areas within the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) and partners such as Medicare Administrative Contractors and the U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).
  • There is a licensure portion (state), a certification portion (federal) and a contracting portion (state and federal). Each portion requires its own set of forms and documents.
  • There are three types of licenses issued as a result of a CHOW (temporary, probationary and standard).
  • You will see many acronyms and terms.


This training outlines the CHOW process and helps you complete the process successfully.


Navigation for this Training

To advance to the next page, click on Next.

To return to the previous page, click on Previous.

You may also click on the page numbers that are above this text.